The Fantasy Worlds of 1968

fullsizeoutput_2671968 marked a turning point in my reading habits. It was the year in which I started training as a teacher at Bingley College of Higher Education in the West Riding of Yorkshire. The West Riding was due to move over from an infant/junior/secondary system to one which followed the pattern of lower/middle/higher schools, the difference being where the age breaks came. Consequently, although I had gone to a traditional 7-11 junior school I was trained for 7-13, the upper age for which Middle schools catered.  As you would expect, the College had an extensive library of Children’s Literature for use on teaching practice, including material only recently published.  I had always read vociferously as a child but most of my reading had been of the Enid Blyton, Lorna Hill variety.  Once I got to Secondary school I was weaned onto the classics and so for seven years Children’s Literature had passed me by.  Now I was encouraged to go back to it and go back I did, with such enthusiasm that I eventually ended up running school libraries and lecturering in the subject on both undergraduate and postgraduate degrees for nearly twenty years. The quality of writing for children in that 7-13 age range during the sixties was improving all the time and so, when this reading 1968 project was announced, I thought that I would celebrate it by re-visiting a couple of the outstanding books published in that year.

In 1962 Joan Aiken had published The Wolves of Willoughby Chase, the first of a sequence which was eventually to run to twelve novels, that last of which, The Witch of Clatteringshaws, was published posthumously over forty years later in 2005. 1968, saw the arrival of The Whispering Mountain, a story which chronologically precedes all the others but which fills in the back story of Owen Hughes and his recovery of the Harp of Teirtu.  Like all the novels in the series it is set in a world which bears a passing resemblance to our own but which allows for far more in the way of daring do and acts of duplicitous evil.  Set in the time of the Stuarts (although not the Stuarts as we know them) it introduces Prince Davie Jamie Charlie Neddie Georgie Harry Dick Tudor-Stuart who will later become King and be forced to fight off the machinations of the wicked Hanoverians. The Prince is rescued by Owen after a hunting accident and is brought to see that his host, the Marquis of Malyn, is nothing more than an evil schemer who is willing to go to any lengths to keep the Harp of Teirtu from its true owner.  Set in Wales, the story takes the reader through valleys, over mountains and eventually along a series of frightening subterranean passages as Owen, in the company of Arabis, daughter of wandering poet Tom Dando, and Brother Ianto fight to save not only the Harp but also the exiled Children of the Pit, brought as slaves to mine Welsh gold two thousand years before and now longing to return to the beautiful mountains of Sur.

You are not going to get very far with this sequence of novels if you are not someone who is well practised in believing six impossible things before breakfast every morning.  Fortunately, this is a skill I acquired very early in life.  Overall, they provide a picture of an England that is just close enough to our own history to cast a knowing eye over life as it would have been lived in that period.  They make no attempt to hide the squalor, and indeed the danger, that many children would have faced on a daily basis.  But, primarily, they are the most enormous fun.  Although she doesn’t appear in this book, the series is dominated by the character of Dido Twite, an urchin from the back streets of London, who battles through every conceivable peril to bring justice to the land. No child should grow up without having made Dido’s acquaintance.  In fact, having re-read The Whispering Mountain, I am going to have to return to the other eleven novels as well, because a hearty dose of Dido does adult readers no harm either.

If Aiken’s fantasy world is one of adventure, fun and ultimate justice, Ursula Le Guin’s Earthsea is a different matter altogether.  Centred firmly in Jungian theory, A Wizard of Earthsea is perhaps the most serious example from this period of a type of fantasy, aimed at children and teenagers but intended to promote discussion on critical social issues.

Raised on the island of Gont, from early childhood Ged is marked out as a youth with powers beyond his years.  After a series of mishaps he comes to the attention of Ogion, the island wizard, who takes him into his home and tries to teach him the patience and humility that need to accompany the use of what Ged thinks of as magic.  However, after a near disaster when Ged encounters a shadow that cannot be named, Ogion sends him to Roke where those who show promise in this area can be trained more fully to recognise the responsibility that must be brought to bear in the use of their powers.  Le Guin explores the importance of recognising the true nature of everything around us,

When you know the fourfold in all its seasons root and leaf and flower, by sight and scent and seed, then you may learn its true name, knowing its being: which is more than its use.

and of then respecting each element of creation for what it is.  Above all, she emphasises the importance of balance.

To change this rock into a jewel, you must change its true name. And to do that, my son, even to so small a scrap of the world, is to change the world.  It can be done.  Indeed it can be done.  It is the art of the Master Changer, and you will learn it, when you are ready to learn it.  But you must not change one thing, one pebble, one grain of sand, until you know what good and evil will follow on the act.  The world is in balance, in Equilibrium.  A wizard’s power of Changing and of Summoning can shake the balance of the world.  It is dangerous, that power.  It is most perilous.  It must follow knowledge, and serve need.  To light a candle is to cast a shadow.

However, Ged does not follow that advice and in a moment of hubris he frees a shadow from the halls of the Dead.  From that moment on he is hunted by a form he cannot clearly see and to which he can give no name.  Only when he recognises that running will do no good, accepts that he must face the darkness he has unleashed and name it as the shadow of his death is he able to make himself whole.

And he began to see the truth, that Ged had neither lost nor won but, naming the shadow of his death with his own name, had made himself a whole man.

Ged has to know all that goes into his own being, the good and the evil and he has then to be able to keep those forces within himself in equilibrium, giving way neither to the light nor the dark so that he might become a man that cannot be used or possessed by any power other than himself.  

At eighteen I read this very much as fantasy adventure, without thinking too much about the philosophy that underlies it.  However, I have come back to it many times over the years because it is a text that haunts the mind and unfolds its meaning on different levels as you develop in your own understanding of your place in the world.

 

30 thoughts on “The Fantasy Worlds of 1968

  1. Harriet Devine November 2, 2017 / 8:14 am

    I’ve never read these but my daughter, born 1969, loved them. I wonder if children are still reading them now?

    Like

    • Café Society November 2, 2017 / 8:21 am

      My youngster godchild devoured everything Joan Aiken wrote up until a couple of years ago when he woke up and became a teenager over night! I haven’t tried him with the Le Guin, but students were still reading these when I left lecturing a decade ago and her themes are timeless.

      Like

  2. A Life in Books November 2, 2017 / 8:29 am

    The Wolves of Willoughby Chase series sounds like a wonderful piece of storytelling. It’s clearly stood the test of time – still in print with a reissue in 2012 according to the Waterstones website.

    Like

    • Café Society November 2, 2017 / 8:33 am

      Oh it is, Susan. If you don’t know them then I strongly advise you to find a child you can pretend to buy them for immediately and then read them all yourself. It would be a wonderful way to spend Christmas. Every girl should know Dido Twite. She is a role model for us all. I was only sorry that the 1968 publication wasn’t one of the books that features her or her sister Is.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings November 2, 2017 / 11:17 am

    Two interesting books from 1968! I’ve never read the Aiken, but I read and loved the whole of the Earthsea Trilogy as it was many decades ago. Time for a revisit maybe!

    Like

    • Café Society November 2, 2017 / 11:51 am

      Have you read the other two volumes which came very much later? They are interesting but don’t have the same depth.

      Like

      • kaggsysbookishramblings November 2, 2017 / 2:56 pm

        Yes, I think I read the whole Earthsea trilogy – but alas, it was so long ago I can remember very little about it…. :((((

        Like

      • Café Society November 2, 2017 / 3:20 pm

        No, there were two more, which came twenty plus years after the trilogy, five in all.

        Liked by 1 person

      • kaggsysbookishramblings November 2, 2017 / 3:49 pm

        Gosh – I think it may well have been a trilogy when I read it, which was a very long time ago… 😉

        Like

  4. Fictionophile November 2, 2017 / 5:03 pm

    Interesting that one decades’ ‘fantasy’ is another decades’ reality.

    Like

    • Café Society November 2, 2017 / 5:10 pm

      I think the best fantasy/science fiction works that way. I recently re-read ‘Brave New World’ which seemed completely pie-in-the-sky five decades ago. Not so much now!

      Like

  5. BookerTalk November 2, 2017 / 5:57 pm

    Both of these passed me by sadly. I tried getting the first in The Earthsea series from the library last year – they didn’t have it which I found astonishing.

    Like

    • Café Society November 2, 2017 / 9:56 pm

      So do I, Karen. I still have my old copy which I re-read for this project. I’m sure you’d pick up a cheap secondhand one somewhere.

      Like

      • BookerTalk November 3, 2017 / 6:37 pm

        i’ve been keeping my eye out but no luck so far

        Like

  6. Helen November 2, 2017 / 9:27 pm

    I somehow missed out on the Joan Aiken series as a child, which is a shame as they sound like just the sort of books I would have loved. Maybe it’s still not too late!

    Like

    • Café Society November 2, 2017 / 9:28 pm

      It is never too late to meet Dido Twite, Helen. She is a role model for us all.

      Like

  7. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review November 3, 2017 / 1:20 am

    I did a reread of the whole Wolves series a year or so ago and it was tremendous fun! There were some volumes I had never read, including The Whispering Mountain, and I was enchanted by that one. Great choice for the Club.

    Like

  8. Jeanne November 3, 2017 / 1:32 pm

    I didn’t realize I’d read any of the other “Wolves” stories until I read the name of Prince Davie Jamie Charlie Neddie Georgie Harry Dick Tudor-Stuart and recognized it immediately!
    The Earthsea books, of course, were formative for me. The shadow Ged calls forth is definitely one of the main inspirations for my blog name.

    Like

    • Café Society November 3, 2017 / 4:20 pm

      Yes, I thought you would be an Earthsea reader, Jeanne. Have you read the fourth and fifth books? The last one especially seemed to let the tension go.

      Like

      • Jeanne November 3, 2017 / 8:04 pm

        Yes, once I find an author whose books I love I read everything by her. That first love carries me a long way, although it did pale with Pullman’s Amber Spyglass and falter when Frank Herbert died!

        Like

  9. buriedinprint November 7, 2017 / 8:21 pm

    I loved the Wolves of Willoughby Chase so much as a girl and I reread it several times, then, and again, twice in the past ten years, just for fun, partly, but with the intention of reading on in the series (but I didn’t). This year I have a couple of other children’s series I am reading/rereading, but when I finish them I would love to take a serious run at Aiken’s oeuvre! And, Earthsea: a real favourite, although enjoyed more as an adult than as a child (because I preferred my books to have girls in them – and Ged didn’t fit for me – but I actually loved Tehanu (published after childhood, of course). I can’t recall the fifth – unless it was more of a novella?

    Like

    • Café Society November 7, 2017 / 8:37 pm

      The Other Wind came out over a decade later than Tehanu. It’s a full length novel but I don’t think it has the depth of the others. It addresses again the question of our relationship with our own death but without the menace of the earlier novels.
      I would love to find the time to re-read all the Aiken books but I can’t see it happening in the near future.

      Like

      • buriedinprint November 8, 2017 / 8:41 pm

        You got me curious enough to check my log and I actually reread them all in 2003, including The Other Wind, so maybe I actually just have blurred the two “new” stories together. Sounds like another reread plan: yikes! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Kat November 8, 2017 / 7:07 pm

    I have read both of these for a wonder, but admit I didn’t properly appreciate Aiken as a child. A few years ago a small press published a collection of her short stories for adults, and all reviewers praised The Wolves as well.
    I have been planning to reread A Wizard of Earthsea, a beautiful book, one that didn’t disappoint me as an adult scrounging for Le Guin’s fiction.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Café Society November 8, 2017 / 9:06 pm

      Have you read the other books in the Le Guin cycle? I’d be interested in how you think it develops. Aiken writes in so many different styles and for such a range of audiences. Do you know her Mortimer the Raven stories? I’ve convinced two non-readers that books are great with the help of those.

      Like

      • Kat November 10, 2017 / 12:51 am

        I read the Earthsea quartet a long time ago and very much enjoyed it. I do think an Earthsea book or two may have been added since then. I’ll have to look for the Aiken.

        Like

  11. mlegan November 11, 2017 / 2:01 pm

    Oh I must go back to read Earthsea. I was 13 or so when I devoured them and became a LeGuin fan. And I had forgot all about Aiken.

    Like

    • Café Society November 11, 2017 / 2:15 pm

      Sometimes it’s just great to have a week or so revisiting those books that you loved as a child. Occasionally they let you down, but Le Guin and Aiken won’t do that.

      Like

Leave a comment