Sunday Retrospective ~ April 7th 2019

Sorry for the silence. It has been both literal and enforced.  The squeamish should not read on.

An x-ray during what was meant to be a routine dental appointment showed that one of my teeth was eating itself from the inside out because of something that was lodged in my jaw.  Immediate action was called for in the shape of extraction and excavation. The tooth came out easily enough but the foreign object was another matter.  It turned out to be the root of a tooth that was pulled over fifty years ago and in that time the jaw bone had grown round it.  The dentist’s breezy “I’m sure it will just flick out” will probably qualify for the most optimistic prediction of the year.  When I said excavation what I meant was excavation, because eventually the drill had to come out and the offending item was gouged out of my jaw.  Consequently I have spent the last week or so imitating someone who has gone the proverbial twelve rounds with any heavyweight boxer you care to name and not really feeling like being sociable even on line.  The external swelling has now almost gone and the pain is bearable but the swelling inside the mouth is still extensive and the stitches have yet to dissolve.  Anyway, as you can imagine, I have been very busy sitting round feeling sorry for myself and surprisingly being completely exhausted.  It seems to have taken as much out of me as major surgery.

Not surprisingly, I haven’t read anything that could be called demanding.  I caught up with the new Olivia Kiernan police procedural, The Killer in Me.  I was very impressed by the first in this series, Too Close to Breathe, and this new novel is better than the first.  Set in and around Dublin, these books feature Detective Chief Superintendent Frankie Sheehan who is faced not only with a double murder but also with a possible case of false imprisonment following the release of Seán Hennessey who has served seventeen years for the killing of his parents. Caught between those who would prove Hennessey’s innocence and those who think he is also responsible for the current offences, Frankie then discovers that there is a link between the crimes past and present and her own family. Kiernan is going to be very good indeed and if you haven’t started reading her yet I would say catch up quickly.

I also read the first in another crime series, this one set in Derbyshire and written by Roz Watkins.  Having seen a very positive review of her second novel, Dead Man’s Daughter, I got hold of the first, The Devil’s Dice, an absolute page turner if ever there was one.  DI Meg Dalton has returned to her Derbyshire roots having previously served in Manchester.  During the course of the story it becomes apparent that Meg has suffered some sort of trauma in her previous posting and that she is now anxious to regain not only her standing with her colleagues, but also her belief in her own abilities.  Called out to the discovery of a body in a cave system she has to decide whether the death is the result of suicide or of murder. Investigating the victim’s background she finds herself caught up in a fierce struggle between a group who believe in assisted dying for those who are in the final stages of debilitating and painful illnesses and fundamentalist Christians who will go to any lengths to stop them. As with the Kiernan novel, the protagonist discovers that her own family have an involvement in what is happening and Meg is placed in the difficult posisition of having to decide whether to give evidence against a close relative.  I thought this was a very strong first novel and will definitely be getting hold of a copy of Dead Man’s Daughter as soon as possible.

33 thoughts on “Sunday Retrospective ~ April 7th 2019

  1. nsfordwriter April 7, 2019 / 2:18 pm

    I’m sorry you had a rough time, hope you are feeling increasingly better.

    Like

    • Café Society April 7, 2019 / 2:34 pm

      Thank you. What amazes me is how tired it’s left me. Now I just have the reconstruction work to look forward to 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A Life in Books April 7, 2019 / 2:52 pm

    Oh dear. That’s grim. I do hope you’ll be feeling better soon and that the reconstruction work is done with quickly.

    Like

    • Café Society April 7, 2019 / 3:16 pm

      Six months, I’m told and that is if all goes well. What larks!!

      Like

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings April 7, 2019 / 3:10 pm

    Oh my goodness! Sympathies! I had an unplanned extraction of a cracked tooth recently and it was hellish and then got infected and I had to have antibiotics. i’m still not convinced all is quite well. Why is the human body so inefficient???? 😦

    Like

    • Café Society April 7, 2019 / 3:18 pm

      It is the worry about infection that is probably keeping me low, Karen. I react very badly to antibiotics and would have to be hospitalised so that the effects could be monitored. As you say, why are we so badly put together?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Margaret April 7, 2019 / 3:33 pm

    So sorry you’re going through all this! I’ve also had problems with my teeth over the last few months so I know a little of what it must be like for you. I don’t like the sound of ‘reconstruction’ work – so hope it won’t be too traumatic.

    Like

    • Café Society April 7, 2019 / 4:46 pm

      The tooth next to the extraction was damaged, Margaret, because of how difficult the rogue root was to get out and so work has to be done on that before an implant can go in to replace the one now missing.

      Like

  5. BookerTalk April 7, 2019 / 4:22 pm

    Yikes you have been through hell. Just saw in response to another comment that this is going to take 6 months in all to be resolved. Hopefully you will be able to manage more than a liquid diet soon.

    Like

    • Café Society April 7, 2019 / 4:47 pm

      I tried some of these meals that meant for people who have difficulty swallowing, Karen. I just hope I never have to rely on them; they are inedible! For the moment I have bought a soup maker and am experimenting.

      Like

      • BookerTalk April 8, 2019 / 4:19 pm

        I can sympathise, My husband was recommended to eat some protein bars to help build his strength from his recent operation. Yuk! Body builders apparently eat these but they were so sweet….. The drinks are not much better. You can’t tell blindfold, whether you are drinking banana, strawberry or vanilla

        Like

  6. Cherilyn Ward April 7, 2019 / 6:03 pm

    So sorry to hear about your tooth and the difficulties you are now having. Soups sound like a reasonable solution but hope you will soon be able to manage other things. Cherilyn

    Like

  7. Café Society April 7, 2019 / 6:18 pm

    Thanks, Cherilyn. How was Edinburgh? You missed a fascinating discussion but I’m sure you would rather have been on holiday.

    Like

  8. heavenali April 7, 2019 / 6:52 pm

    Goodness what a horrible time you have had. I really hope you continue to recover. Take care.

    Like

    • Café Society April 7, 2019 / 7:11 pm

      Thanks, Ali. I seem to be on the mend but I am always wary of counting chickens.

      Like

  9. Lisa April 7, 2019 / 8:02 pm

    You have my complete sympathy. I have an appointment with my dental surgeon tomorrow for the next step in dealing with my extraction, and then it’s back to the regular dentist.

    I read Georgette Heyer after my surgery, I couldn’t cope with anything serious (the medications didn’t help with that).

    Like

    • Café Society April 7, 2019 / 8:18 pm

      Then The Bears and I will be thinking of you in the morning. Good Luck.

      Like

  10. Liz April 7, 2019 / 10:07 pm

    What a hideous nightmare for you, Ann – but what a relief for you to be on the mend. It’s horrid to be contemplating another six months for the reconstruction – perhaps the perfect excuse for plenty of self-love and pampering by/with the bears. Xxx

    Like

    • Café Society April 8, 2019 / 8:36 am

      Yes, Liz. Unfortunately I had already arranged for some quite major work to be done on my flat at the end of the month and can’t back out without losing rather a lot of money. Oh well, perhaps once that is over!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Liz April 8, 2019 / 8:52 am

        Oh gosh what a time of it you are having. The autumn is going to be marvellous, I’m sure! X

        Like

  11. Jeanne April 8, 2019 / 12:29 am

    Oral surgery IS major surgery. You can get an implant, or if you have good enough teeth on either side of the affected tooth, you can just get a cosmetic replacement. I have two of those and they work well enough. Implants are a bridge too far for me.

    Like

    • Café Society April 8, 2019 / 8:39 am

      Thank you. Jeanne, you make me feel better about what I felt was an over reaction on my body’s part. Before we can decide on what type of reconstruction is going to be done I have to have a series of scans to see how much damage has been done to the next door tooth and to the jaw by the ‘excavations’. That may cut down my options.

      Like

  12. FictionFan April 8, 2019 / 1:17 am

    Ugh! Poor you! Hope the healing progresses well and speedily.

    Like

  13. Laura April 8, 2019 / 8:56 am

    This sounds horrible – so sorry to hear about it.

    Like

  14. Annabel (AnnaBookBel) April 8, 2019 / 11:01 am

    Eek! I hope the infection is truly on the mend after the awful dental surgery. I’m not squeamish about dentists, but I have had nightmares about teeth! All the best. Glad you’ve had some reading to take your mind off it a little.

    Like

    • Café Society April 8, 2019 / 11:34 am

      I’m not squeamish either Annabel. Goodness only knows what it would have been like if I was!

      Like

  15. mlegan April 10, 2019 / 2:38 pm

    I am in the midst of dental difficulties as well, scheduled for surgery next week. I can sympathize! Just finished She Lies in Wait,which I think was a referral from you. Perfect for jaw pain reading!

    Like

    • Café Society April 10, 2019 / 3:03 pm

      We will have to bolster each other Mary Lou. I didn’t recommend She Lies in Wait, but that is the second reference I’ e come across today and it is definitely on my tbr list.

      Like

  16. Jenny @ Reading the End April 12, 2019 / 1:29 am

    Oh my God, you poor thing! I’m glad it’s all sorted out now, but that just sounds miserable.

    Like

    • Café Society April 12, 2019 / 8:29 am

      Thanks Jenny. Unfortunately, that was only the beginning. Reconstructing the whole area starts a fortnight today!

      Like

Leave a comment